Tags

, , , ,

When I blogged ‘The problem with cotton’ part 1 and 2 I shared a little about GM cotton https://greenroomgallery.wordpress.com/2012/03/15/the-problem-with-cotton/  But I didn’t write much about it on purpose. I have been negative towards anything genetically modified since I first heard about it many years ago. However I do try to be fair in my judgements and so while I read up again on the cotton industry I felt less sure about GM cotton being all bad.

This morning someone on facebook shared an article from Daily Mail in UK. I read it and felt I need to share it. It’s informative and very sad. Please read and share.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-1082559/The-GM-genocide-Thousands-Indian-farmers-committing-suicide-using-genetically-modified-crops.html

These GM related tragedies are happening in India.

In Australia 90% of the cotton industry is now GM, according to fresh data. It seems to be saving pesticides which of course is positive. Agricultural issues are complex and I certainly understand the challenges for farmers.

The idealist in me still prefers organically grown cotton until someone proves that GM is better.

