Tags

, ,

Jeremy & Tamaryn from Bellingen are the hearts and hands behind Drishti Candles. I first met them at Made with Love markets in Coffs Harbour in May this year. It was a Sunday which is the one day of the week when I refuse to go in my car……..anywhere. What can I say, I made an exception. Someone had whispered about this event in my ear. I was really searching for any local jewellery artists and found Carly from Grafton on their website. So Carly’s jewellery was the reason for me going, leaving the comfort of my staying-at-home-clothes. If you are a Coffs Harbour resident I recommend Made with Love Markets, especially if you have babies, children or grandchildren. There’s so much handmade for the little ones. I am myself in the part of life where my children are grown ups without babies, so I made my way through pretty quick just stopping occasionally for a tactile encounter whenever a colour would call out ‘touch me’.

The Drishti Candles, caught my eye from far, far away. Three tables lining up a dark corner and gorgeous candles in different sizes and shapes, calling out ‘touch us’. I love candles. As soon as I spotted them my feet were on the task. Two meters away, I could smell the aromas of cinnamon and lemon grass. Well, mainly the cinnamon.
I ended up having a long chat with Jeremy about the sustainability of these   candles. You need to understand that for me, it’s only been beeswax for the last 3 years. I never thought I would consider anything else. As Jeremy was telling me about everything from the lead free cotton wicks to the essential oils in their 100% natural * RSPO certified palm wax, I sensed his passion for the environment and for their candles. I knew I had to have these delightful light carriers in our boutique as well as in our home.

It took a few weeks before we finally had our first order in the shop. The candles walked out the door. Tamaryn came down personally with our second order. We had a long and lovely chat about candles and small business adventure in general. Tamaryn is very artistic and has just finished the new artwork for their tags and so forth. Can’t wait to see it. There’s a new aroma coming as well. At the moment we stock Dream Walker – Lavender, Fire Dancer – Cinnamon, Spiritual Warrior –  Cedar wood and Up Lifter – Lemon grass . They come in different sizes and shapes. There’s the Bell – 40 hours, The Globe – 80 hours, Short Pillar – 100 hours and Tall Pillar – 200 hours.

The Globe (have this one in the shop, spreading cinnamon scent) has been burning for about 15 hours in this photo. Palm wax candles are slow burning just like beeswax candles. I still love beeswax candles and we will continue to stock both. It is very special to find products that are locally made so we feel blessed to stock Drishti.

* In response to the urgent and pressing global call for sustainably produced palm oil, the Roundtable on Sustainable Palm Oil (RSPO) was formed in 2004 with the objective promoting the growth and use of sustainable oil palm products through credible global standards and engagement of stakeholders.

